Library Guides: MATH 420: History of Mathematics: Home

The Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Provides an authoritative and accessible look at the lives of the men and women who have shaped science. Editor(s): Helicon Articles: 2,135 People: 1,322 Publisher: Helicon Copyright: © RM, 2018. All rights reserved.

New Dictionary of Scientific Biography by Noretta Koertge
Call Number: Q141 .N45 2008 v.1-8
ISBN: 9780684313207
Publication Date: 2008

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window This database contains over 600,000 biographies on more than 500,000 people gathered from more than 170 award-winning Gale reference sources.
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects

Library Catalog Holston Associated Libraries (HAL) catalog of books and library items held by Emory & Henry College, King University, WCPL, and TCPL.

E&H OneSearch This link opens in a new window Search the library catalog, most of the libraries research databases, and the E-Journals by Title list simultaneously.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window Includes reference works, periodicals, primary source materials, news, and maps/multimedia.

MacTutor: Biographies
The biography section of the MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive. This is the most extensive historical archive on the Internet. It contains, for example, biographical data for more than 100 mathematicians born in the period 1920 - 1939.
Mathematics Genealogy Project
Here you can find information about the mathematical genealogy of thousands of mathematicians.
The Erdös Number Project
This database helps celebrate collaborations between mathematicians.
On Women in Math
Reports on and biographies of female mathematicians from the Association of Women in Mathematics.
MacTutor: Chronological Biographies Index
Mathematicians by birth and death dates.
Mathematically Gifted & Black
One biography a day for Black History Month

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.