Step 2: Choose Databases - Database Searching - Health - Library Guides at Emory & Henry University

Choose appropriate databases

Because different databases cover different topics or selections of journals, we recommend using more than one database for your search.

There are more databases available on the library's website. These are just some of the health-related databases we have access to.

Free Databases

CDC National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Guide for Searching PubMed

Subscription Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines on many health topics.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
- This link opens in a new window
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
- This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window This comprehensive bibliographic database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions. UpToDate E&H Access Guide

Database Searching - Health: Step 2: Choose Databases

Choose appropriate databases

Free Databases

Subscription Databases